Herringbone Cowl | Current Project

I’m knitting this semi self designed herringbone cowl at the moment. You might have seen a couple progress photos of this on my instagram. I have been working away, quite slowly, since – late last year I think? Who knows.

I have chronic tendonitis in my arms from knitting like there was no tomorrow. So these days I have to knit like there’s all the time in the world. If anyone wants to know how I deal with tendonitis let me know and I can do a post on it.

I’d been wanting to make myself a herringbone scarf or cowl for a long time; I just couldn’t find a pattern I liked enough. So after watching VeryPink Knit’s tutorial on the sideways herringbone stitch I decided to just wing it.

I had two balls of this soft and lovely Hexa yarn, my grandparents got me it as a souvenir from a holiday they took in Europe.

 

When I started knitting I was worried it was too fuzzy for the herringbone pattern to really show through but now I think it adds a nice textural element.

One very bad thing about this yarn however is that at one point it just started falling apart. I don’t know what caused it. I was knitting along and suddenly the yarn just fell apart in my hands. There was a good twenty metre stretch where it just kept happening. I managed to spit splice it back together and the yarn seems to be stable again now but it was very frustrating. I don’t think it was moth damage – it was just really weird and annoying.

Photo 9-04-2016, 12 24 40 PM

I plan to knit until I run out of yarn and then sew the ends together with a mattress stitch to make it into a cowl.

Hopefully I’ll finish it before things start getting cold over here.

Have you ever made a pattern up as you went? Ever experienced yarn falling apart in your hands? Let me know in the comments 🙂

 

Leave a Comment

