Lace and Moss #OOTD

Sometimes you can’t style new things the way you had in mind. Try on, try, try again.

There’s been a bit of radio silence on this blog lately. If you follow me anywhere else you would know that early in the month my dog, very sadly, passed away. His death hit me very hard and it was difficult to do little more than cry. So I took a bit of a brake from things the last couple of weeks.

But here I am, with another outfit post feeling a bit less sad.

I actually found this jumper and slip dress on the same op-shopping trip. I have been looking for a slip for this sheer white dress for the longest time, when I found this on the rack at salvos I thought it would be perfect. Even after trying it on in store I was happy. Unfortunately when I got home I found that not only is the slip the wrong length and shape for the dress – it’s completely sheer as well…a fact I missed in store.

Despite not being able to wear it how I’d wanted, I still like the slip enough to try styling it another way. This outfit is what I came up with. The jumper and leggings resolve the sheerness issues while still showing off the pretty lace details at the top and bottom of the slip. The knit of the jumper adds a nice contrast, while also making me feel like I’m covered in moss. Oh and to combat the length of the slip I just tucked it into the leggings.

Off topic but I saw the new Ghostbusters yesterday and I have to say that I love it so much! It was brilliant and cheered me up a lot after the ruff last few weeks. I’m keeping my eye out for a Ghostbusters logo patch to add to my jacket 🙂

Has a thrifted item ever gone wrong and then gone right for you? Or do you like styling one piece lots of different ways? Let me know in the comments.

 

|jumper Lazy Sunday (op-shopped)| slip op-shopped| leggings Black Milk| enamel pin Stay Home Club|

Leave a Comment

