Finished Project | Entrelac Shawl

I have been working on this shawl (on and off) since February 2014 and now it is finished!dsc_0190

Once I spotted the pattern for this on ravelry I knew I wanted to make it. I used Noro sock yarn like the pattern suggests and really like how the colours shifts across the shawl, especially in the few squares that change tones midway.

This was my first attempt at entrelac knitting. You knit each square at a time in a way which makes the end result look like woven fabric. It’s really easy once you get going. This shawl has more than two hundred squares so I got pretty good by the end.

 

This thing ended up longer than I am tall. As progress went on I had to devise new ways of getting a decent photo. It’s been very difficult to get the whole thing in frame.

One of the reasons this took so long is finishing touches. I didn’t have yarn for the boarder and tassels for ages. And once I got my hands on some that I liked I was just lazy. When I actually started on the crochet edging the yarn I had wasn’t any good. I ended up using some bamboo yarn I had left over from another project.

I’ve got a habit of finishing things just in time for spring, so I won’t get to wear this for a while.

This is definitely the largest knitted thing I’ve made, and I’m really happy with how it’s ended up.

Have you ever tried entrelac? Finished a long term project recently? Let me know in the comments 🙂

Leave a Comment

