Instax Wide 300 1st Roll & Review

I recently just finished my first roll of wide film on my instax 300 camera, here are the shots and my first impressions.

DSC_0619

The camera itself is relatively inexpensive retailing (in Australia) at around $180. The film however is very expensive at $60 for 20 frames. The film format is what drew me to this so I wish is was a bit cheaper.

With the camera you get a few accessories, an adapter for taking closer shots, a neck strap for carrying it. It has a built in flash which can be turned off and a little screen which shows the mode you’re in and how many shots are left.

The three modes, normal, light, and dark, give you a chance at controlling the light levels and exposure of the photographs. I found that changing between modes was a bit clunky – having to press the button so many times, and the fact that it stays on the setting even after you’ve turned the camera off and on. It’s still a good feature just not a smooth one.

Another thing I wanted to mention is the viewfinder. It does not show the same format as the film. So when framing up a photo there’s a bit of guess work. You have to sort of frame things so there’s more of what you want in the photo on each side, than what you’re seeing in the viewfinder.

In some reviews I watched before I got my camera people warned about how the power button switches on and off very easily. Which means if you carry it around in a bag it can turn itself on and waste a shot. My camera did in fact turn on inside my backpack – it makes a very loud noise when it turns on so luckily I heard it – so that’s definitely something to look out for if you have this camera.

Overall I really like it. The film is gorgeous and has great colour quality. It gives you a bit more control over the finished shot than other instant cameras do, and it’s simple and easy to use.

Here’s my first roll:

Sorry for the glare in some of the darker photos, it was impossible to show the photo without getting a reflection of my dslr. My favourite shots of the roll have to be the banana palms and the dahlias.

Let me know if you have a favourite in the comments 🙂

Leave a Comment

